Junior Section 2018/19

We have an active Junior section with about 30 boys and girls learning to play golf.

The Junior Team Organiser is Chris Oakes, he is aided by Philip Kay who is a PGA Level 1 Volunteer Coach. The PGA Professional is Steve Russell.

Call Steve on 01746 762045 or email for junior information.

For our Junior Application and Parental Consent forms please see
Bridgnorth Golf Club Bridgnorth Golf Club Bridgnorth Golf Club Bridgnorth Golf Club Bridgnorth Golf Club Bridgnorth Golf Club
Membership

Junior membership rates for boys and girls is competitively priced.
  • Junior Under 18 £100
  • Junior Under 16 £60
  • Junior Under 14 £50
  • Academy Under 12 £40
  • Academy Under 10 £30
The playing year commences on 1st April and the age as of 1st Jan is used for the above rates. Adult FULL members of the club who have children or grand children can enrol children for free (except Insurance & affiliation fees).

Membership entitles the Junior to attend Junior night on a wednesday 6-7.30pm where we have coaching, games and competitions to introduce the children to golf in a safe and friendly atmosphere.

Juniors can play the course and are encouraged to gain a handicap and when of a reasonable standard enter junior and later adult competitions.

Academy Lessons - From Sat April 21st 2018

Junior boys and girls can learn how to play golf at our Golf Academy. Steve Russell runs his popular Golf Academy during the Spring each year. Groups are made up according to age and ability.

Juniors (ages 6-14) on Saturday afternoons from 12-2pm. The cost is £25 per block of five 1 hour lessons. Lessons take place on the Bridgnorth Golf Club practice area on Stanley Lane. All clubs and balls provided if you don't have any.

If you attend the lessons you are welcome to come to the Junior Club Night on Wednesday evenings 6-7.30pm throughout the summer. You can join the club as an Junior member and play the course and go on to gain your handicap.

Junior Club Night

Junior Club night takes place during the Spring and Summer on Wednesday evenings commwencing April 18th 2018 from 6-7.30pm at the Club House using the first 3 holes of the course.

More experienced are encouraged to play the rest of the course in groups of 3 or 4.



Pee Wee Tour

Younger players (boys U11 and girls U13) can take part in the popular Pee Wee Tour playing at county courses during July and August.
  • Sun 15 Jul - Oswestry
  • Wed 25 Jul - The Shropshire
  • Tue 31 Jul -The Grove
  • Mon 6 Aug - Shrewsbury
  • Tue 14 Aug - Shifnal
These are non-handicap competitions played on short holes. We would encourage all Academy members to enter these events.

SHUGC Junior Competitions

Players with handicaps under boys 28 and girls 36 and below can take part in county competitions see www.shugc.com for more details.

Sat 10 Mar Junior Spring Cup & Charles Lewis - Ludlow
Sat 14 Apr Junior Par 3 Comp - The Grove
Sun 29 Apr Junior U14 Stableford - Arscott
Sun 24 Jun Junior U12/14 Boys Champs - Bridgnorth
Sun 8 Jul Junior Boys Championships - The Herefordshire
Fri 3 Aug Junior Handicap League Finals - Burghill Valley
Thu 9 Aug Junior Centenary Texas Scramble - Ludlow
Tue 28 Aug Junior Champs & Shrop Star Team - Hawkstone Park
Sat 29 Sep Junior Match Play Finals - Shrewsbury
Sun 30 Sep Junior Match Play Finals - Shrewsbury
Junior Competitions

Well done to all the Juniors who took part in all the competitions during 2017. These are the winners!

CupWinner
Junior ChampionWilliam Kay
Leahy CupWilliam Kay
ClipperTim Harriman
DiddyPolly Wiseman
Jimmy CowardWilliam Kay
George GreenWilliam Kay
Dialy TelegraphWilliam Kay
Rose MaiklemToby Kay
Roger Elston Matchplay

Junior Competitions for 2018

Sat 24 Mar 1pm Captain & Junior Captain Drive In
Fri 6 Apr 9.30am Junior Spring Comp No1 Stableford
Mon 9 Apr 9am Junior Spring Comp No2 Stableford
Fri 13 Apr 9.30am Junior Spring Comp No3 Medal
Tue 29 May NST Junior Roger Elston Match Play No1
Fri 1 Jun 9.30am Junior Rosemary Maiklem Cup Stableford
Mon 30 Jul 9.30am Junior Summer Comp No1 Stableford
Thu 2 Aug 9.30am Junior Daily Telegraph Medal
Fri 10 Aug 9.30am Junior Leahy Cup Stableford
Mon 13 Aug NST Junior Roger Elston Match Play No2
Fri 17 Aug 9.30am Junior Jimmy Coward Cup Stableford
Mon 20 Aug 9.30am Junior Summer Comp No2 Stableford
Fri 24 Aug 9.30am Junior Clipper & Diddy Cups Stableford
Fri 31 Aug 9.30am Junior Club Championships Stableford
Mon 3 Sep 9.30am Junior Summer Comp No3 Medal
Sun 14 Oct 10:00-10:50 Mixed Thompson & Purnell Lady/Snr/Jnr Mon 29 Oct 9.30am Junior George Green Final Stableford
Sun 23 Dec 11.30am Junior Captains Day 18 & 9 Holes

Handicap League & Knock-out Matches

We play in the Shropshire and Hereford Junior Handicap league. This year with have drawn Lilleshall Hall, The Shropshire and Shifnal. Any Juniors keen in playing in the team please contact Chris Oakes, Junior Team Organiser on 07753 832261

Protecting our Young Golfers

Bridgnorth Golf Club take your child's safety seriously. The Professional, Assitant Professional and Junior Organiser hold current CRB certificates and have undertaken Safegaurding & Protecting Children in sport training. By following the guidelines set out by the Children in Golf Strategy Group, the Steve Russell Junior Golf Academy and Bridgnorth Golf Club can assure you that the sport of golf is one within which children and young people involved can thrive and flourish in a safe environment.

Key contacts for the Junior Section are:
Steve Russell (Pro)
01746 762045 (Shop)
07815 028296 (Mobile)

Philip Kay (Junior Organiser)
01746 781653 (Home)
07711 317681 (Mobile)

Linda Turner (Welfare Officer)
01746 710502 (Home)
07711 322823 (Mobile)